Updated 2026-11-02

Is Craftsman a good brand?

See Craftsman on Amazon

Generally good

1 CPSC recall in the last 36 months.

Craftsman sells power and hand tools, measuring and layout tools, and tires and wheels, and Amazon owners rate its products highly. The CPSC lists 31 recalls, 1 in the last three years, a cordless tiller/cultivator recall for laceration hazard. USPTO lists Stanley Black & Decker, Inc. as the trademark owner; Stanley Black & Decker is the parent company.

Recall counts are not adjusted for sales volume. How the verdict works

Recalls in 3 years

1

Safety record: Some. Source: CPSC.

Owner satisfaction

High

From ratings of 20 most-rated products on Amazon.

Trustpilot

1.5/5

76 reviews. Rates Craftsman's own store and service, not the products. See on Trustpilot

Search interest

Rising

Monthly Google searches for “craftsman” in the US, Oct 2025 to Sep 2026. Source: Google Ads.

Shop Craftsman on Amazon

See all Craftsman products on Amazon

Amazon data checked 2026-11-01. source

New from Craftsman on Amazon

CRAFTSMAN Bundle: 10-PC Ratchet Strap Kit + 48" Flat Bungees (32) | 1,500 lbs Break Strength Ratchet Straps, Premium Flat Bungees, 18" Soft

CRAFTSMAN Bundle: 10-PC Ratchet Strap Kit + 48" Flat Bungees (32) | 1,500 lbs Break Strength Ratchet Straps, Premium Flat Bungees, 18" Soft

Check price on Amazon

What owners say about Craftsman

Verbatim quotes. Trustpilot quotes are the newest positive and negative reviews; they rate the brand's own store and service.

Although I was disappointed that the trigger on my battery chainsaw failed after two years of use, the warranty staff sent me a new saw within weeks even though I had no receipt for my purchase. The saw is an affordable way to to periodic yard maintenance.
5 of 5 stars, Trustpilot review, 2026-06-16
I have a battery powered mower that doesn't turn off without removing the battery. It could have caused injury to my kids. They have refused to follow up. They need to stop selling products from this merchant.
1 of 5 stars, Trustpilot review, 2026-10-13
Garbage equipment. I bought 2 mowers and neither one lasted more than 2 uses. Of course the automated system isnt meant for you to get through. The first customer service representative refused to provide me any information and he eventually stopped communicating while I was on the phone. The second person was an idiot named sam. He basically told me that craftsman refuses to uphold the warranty…
1 of 5 stars, Trustpilot review, 2026-09-28

Craftsman recalls

  1. 2024
  2. 2024-05-30CRAFTSMAN® V20 Cordless Tillers/Cultivators. The assembly instructions can cause consumers to incorrectly attach the bottom portion of the tiller/cultivator upside down, causing the tines to rotate toward… Incidents: The firm has received one report of incorrect attachment of the bottom portion of the unit. About 44,400 units. Remedy: New Instructions. CPSC notice
  3. 2023
  4. 2023-04-20DeWALT, Stanley and Craftsman Fiberglass Sledgehammers. The head of the sledgehammers can loosen prematurely and detach unexpectedly during use, posing an impact injury hazard to the user. Incidents: The firm has received 192 reports of the sledgehammer's head detaching, including two reported injuries to consumers' face and head. Units: About 2.2 million (In addition, about 53,000 in Canada). Remedy: Refund. CPSC notice
Show 29 earlier recalls (1980-2022)
  1. 2022
  2. 2022-04-14Craftsman 30" Mini and Troy-Bilt TB30 Riding Lawn Mowers. The riding mowers can fail to come to a complete stop and continue to move at a speed of about one mile per hour when the clutch/brake pedal is fully… Incidents: None reported About 6,200 units. Remedy: Repair, Replace. CPSC notice
  3. 2020
  4. 2020-12-09CRAFTSMAN® CMECSP610 10-inch corded chain saws with extension poles. The chain saw can start unexpectedly without operation of the switch when the extension cord adaptor is connected upside down, posing a laceration hazard. Incidents: CRAFTSMAN has received one report of the recalled chain saw starting without operation of the switch causing a laceration injury to a consumer. About 82,000 units. Remedy: Repair. CPSC notice
  5. 2020-04-16Troy-Bilt and Craftsman 25cc 2-Cycle trimmers and Remington 25cc 2-Cycle polesaw. The head of the trimmers and polesaws can continue to rotate when the throttle is released, posing a laceration hazard. Incidents: None reported About 2,660 units. Remedy: Replace. CPSC notice
  6. 2019
  7. 2019-04-17Craftsman M350 walk-behind lawn mowers. Sharp objects can pierce through the lawn mower's collecting bag during use and strike a user or bystander, posing an injury hazard to consumers. Incidents: None reported About 5,000 units. Remedy: Repair. CPSC notice
  8. 2017
  9. 2017-03-07Craftsman portable table saws. The table saw's stand can collapse unexpectedly, posing laceration and impact injury hazards to the operator. Incidents: The firm has received 11 reports of the table saw collapsing, including nine reports of injuries to fingers and hands, including broken bones, lacerations, a… About 46,000 units. Remedy: Replace. CPSC notice
  10. 2016
  11. 2016-12-15Craftsman gasoline chainsaws. The chainsaws can leak fuel, posing a fire hazard. Incidents: None reported About 19,500 units. Remedy: Replace. CPSC notice
  12. 2015
  13. 2015-12-09Leaf Blowers. The blower/vac's motor can catch fire, posing fire and burn hazards. Incidents: Seven reports of the blower/vacs catching fire have been received. About 74,000 units. Remedy: Refund. CPSC notice
  14. 2014
  15. 2014-09-30Gas-powered Lawn Mowers. The engine control/bail lever on the handle can fail, allowing the engine to run and the blades to rotate, posing an injury hazard to consumers. Incidents: None reported About 700 units. Remedy: Repair. CPSC notice
  16. 2010
  17. 2010-10-15Riding Lawn Mowers. These riding mowers came to consumers with the side discharge chute not fully secured to the mower. Incidents: The firm received one report of a bolt that discharged forcefully, breaking a window. About 500 units. Remedy: Repair. CPSC notice
  18. 2010-09-29Lawn Mowers & Accessories. The lawnmower's motor and blade can unexpectedly turn on after the mower's safety key is removed, posing a laceration hazard to consumers. Incidents: Black & Decker has received 34 reports of the motor operating after removal of the safety key, including two incidents that resulted in finger lacerations, one… Units: About 160,000 (these lawnmowers were previously recalled in September 2002 for a fire hazard, and that recall was expanded in August 2006). CPSC notice
  19. 2009
  20. 2009-07-08Tractors. The tractor's parking brake can fail posing a loss of control hazard. Incidents: No incidents or injuries have been reported. About 8,200 units. CPSC notice
  21. 2007
  22. 2007-04-05Circular Saws. The "Craftsman" logo label located on the upper blade guard can become partially detached and interfere with the proper operation of the lower blade guard,… Incidents: Sears has received two reports of the blade guard catching on the label with one incident resulting in an injury to the user that required 12 stitches. About 308,000 units. CPSC notice
  23. 2006
  24. 2006-11-28Chain Saws. The chain saw's plastic front handle can break during operation. Incidents: MTD has received two reports of consumers losing control of the saw when the handles broke during use. About 76.000 units. CPSC notice
  25. 2006-08-16Lawn Mowers & Accessories. An electrical component in the lawnmowers can overheat, posing a fire hazard. Incidents: Black & Decker has received 10 additional reports of electrical components overheating, including one additional report of a fire extending beyond the mower. Units: About 160,000 mowers (140,000 of these Black & Decker and Craftsman brand lawnmowers were recalled in September 2002, but also are included in this recall). CPSC notice
  26. 2003
  27. 2003-12-16Vacuum Cleaners/Sweepers. The exhaust blower ports on the wet/dry vacuums are large enough for a small child to reach inside and touch the spinning blower wheel. Incidents: Emerson Tool Company has received 10 reports of children inserting their arms into the ports and receiving minor cuts and abrasions to their fingertips. CPSC notice
  28. 2003-12-09Candles & Candle Holders. Flames from the tealight candle can ignite the candleholder, posing a fire and burn hazard. Incidents: The company received one report of the rectangle-shaped candleholder igniting, after a consumer lit the tealight candle. 800 units. CPSC notice
  29. 2003-03-27Routers & Accessories. The on-off switch on the routers could stick in the "on" position, posing a risk of serious lacerations to the operator and bystanders. Incidents: Sears has not received any reports of injuries or incidents. About 5,200 units. CPSC notice
  30. 2002
  31. 2002-08-06Tractors. Under certain operating conditions, the rear wheel hub may crack or wear and spin free on its axle, resulting in a loss of power to the wheel and brake, which… Incidents: One incident reported. About 22,000 units. CPSC notice
  32. 2002-05-07Lawn Mowers & Accessories. Under certain operating conditions, the vehicle's transmission may fail, causing a loss of drive and brake ability. Incidents: None reported. About 900 units. CPSC notice
  33. 2001
  34. 2001-11-09Chain Saws. The plug at the end of the power cord of the chain saw and the edger may have exposed copper wires, presenting a possible electrocution hazard to consumers. Incidents: None reported. About 7,100 units. CPSC notice
  35. 2001-05-15Tools Miscellaneous. These glue guns can overheat, presenting fire and burn hazards to consumers. Incidents: CPSC and Sears have not received any reports of injuries. About 33,000 units. CPSC notice
  36. 2000
  37. 2000-11-14Radial Arm Saws. These radial arm saws were sold without a guard that covers the entire blade. Incidents: CPSC and Emerson have received about 300 reports of injuries while using these saws. About 3.7 million units. CPSC notice
  38. 1998
  39. 1998-03-18Sanders/Grinders & Accessories. Fire & Fire-Related Burn Incidents: not stated CPSC notice
  40. 1997
  41. 1997-05-03Garage Doors/Openers. Entrapment Incidents: not stated CPSC notice
  42. 1996
  43. 1996-03-27Table Saws. Laceration Incidents: not stated CPSC notice
  44. 1989
  45. 1989-05-22Weed Trimmers. Incidents: not stated CPSC notice
  46. 1985
  47. 1985-05-14Hedge Trimmers. Electrocution/Electric Shock Incidents: not stated CPSC notice
  48. 1985-01-18Scroller Saws. Electrocution/Electric Shock Incidents: not stated CPSC notice
  49. 1980
  50. 1980-07-21Miter Saws. Laceration Incidents: not stated CPSC notice

Marked items are within the last 36 months and count in the verdict.

Product-related lawsuits

No product liability or consumer fraud cases naming Craftsman found in federal court records.

Craftsman in the news

What to buy from Craftsman

Best-rated Craftsman products

25-Ft Tape Measure with Fraction Markings, Retractable, Self-Locking Blade (CMHT37225)

25-Ft Tape Measure with Fraction Markings, Retractable, Self-Locking Blade (CMHT37225)

Check price on Amazon
Pliers, 8 & 10", 2Piece Groove Joint Set (CMHT82547)

Pliers, 8 & 10", 2Piece Groove Joint Set (CMHT82547)

Check price on Amazon
V20 MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, 2 Batteries, Charger

V20 MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, 2 Batteries, Charger

Check price on Amazon
CMXEVBE17595 16 Gallon 6.5 Peak HP Wet Dry Shop Vacuum

CMXEVBE17595 16 Gallon 6.5 Peak HP Wet Dry Shop Vacuum

Check price on Amazon

Alternatives from other brands

DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver, Battery and Charger (DCD771C2)

DEWALT 20V Max XR Drill Driver, Battery and Charger (DCD771C2)

Check price on Amazon
Seesii Mini Chainsaw, 6-inch Mini Chainsaw Cordless, Handheld Electric Power Chain Saw with 2 Batteries, for Tree Trimmi

Seesii Mini Chainsaw, 6-inch Mini Chainsaw Cordless, Handheld Electric Power Chain Saw with 2 Batteries, for Tree Trimmi

Check price on Amazon
Tietoc Chainsaw 6 Inch Mini Electric Chainsaw Cordless Battery Powered, Hand Held Saw for Wood/Trees Trimming, Tools for

Tietoc Chainsaw 6 Inch Mini Electric Chainsaw Cordless Battery Powered, Hand Held Saw for Wood/Trees Trimming, Tools for

Check price on Amazon

Craftsman customer service and warranty

Warranty
Terms vary by product. Official warranty page
Phone
1-888-331-4569
Support page
Official support source

Who makes Craftsman

Company
Craftsman source
Owner
Stanley Black & Decker source
Country
United States source
Founded
1927 source
Trademark (USPTO)
STANLEY BLACK & DECKER, INC. (Connecticut, USA); first registered 1938 source
Made in (recalled products)
United States 10, China 7, Canada 2, Mexico 2, Vietnam 1 (of 19 recalls listing a country)
Same company as
BLACK+DECKER, DEWALT, PORTER-CABLE (shared owner: Stanley Black & Decker)

Compare Craftsman

FAQ

Is Craftsman a good brand?

Generally good. 1 CPSC recall in the last 36 months. Owner satisfaction on Amazon: High.

How many recalls has Craftsman had in the last 3 years?

1 recall in the last 36 months, according to the CPSC.

Who owns Craftsman?

Craftsman is owned by Stanley Black & Decker.

Who makes Craftsman?

The Craftsman brand belongs to Stanley Black & Decker. CPSC recall records show Craftsman products made in United States 10, China 7, Canada 2, Mexico 2, Vietnam 1 (of 19 recalls listing a country).

Where is Craftsman from?

Craftsman is a company from United States.

When was Craftsman founded?

1927.

Where are Craftsman products made?

Recalled Craftsman products listed by the CPSC were made in United States 10, China 7, Canada 2, Mexico 2, Vietnam 1 (of 19 recalls listing a country).

Has Craftsman had product recalls?

Yes. The CPSC lists 31 recalls for Craftsman. The most recent, on 2024-05-30: Black & Decker Recalls CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Tillers/Cultivators Due to Laceration Hazard.

What is the Craftsman customer service number?

1-888-331-4569.

Are Craftsman and BLACK+DECKER the same company?

Yes. Both Craftsman and BLACK+DECKER are owned by Stanley Black & Decker.

Are Craftsman and DEWALT the same company?

Yes. Both Craftsman and DEWALT are owned by Stanley Black & Decker.

Are Craftsman and PORTER-CABLE the same company?

Yes. Both Craftsman and PORTER-CABLE are owned by Stanley Black & Decker.

Power tool brands

Facts checked 2026-11-02. Brand representatives can send corrections to hello@isagoodbrand.com.

How the verdict works

One formula for every brand, built from public records. We do not test products.

Owner satisfaction

Ratings of the brand's most-rated products on Amazon. High: weighted average of at least 4.5 and no more than 10% of products below 4.0. Medium: at least 4.2 and no more than 30%. Low: everything else.

Safety record

CPSC recalls in the last 36 months: none is Clean, one or two is Some, three or more is Frequent. Counts are not adjusted for sales volume.

Owners / SafetyCleanSomeFrequent
HighReliableGenerally goodMixed
MediumGenerally goodMixedUse caution
LowMixedUse cautionUse caution

Craftsman: owner satisfaction High + safety record Some = Generally good

Full methodology